Best Lawyers® recognized 15 of the firm’s 20 attorneys for outstanding work in 19 different categories. Additionally, three have been named “Lawyer of the Year” in Phoenix, an honor given to the top attorney in the region practicing in a specific field of law. 

The Best Lawyers in America© is the longest-running peer-review publication in the legal profession. Each year, Best Lawyers conducts comprehensive surveys of tens of thousands of lawyers who confidentially evaluate their professional peers. Based on the results of these surveys, the publication designates the year’s leading lawyers in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The Coppersmith Brockelman attorneys recognized in the 2021 edition are:

2021 “Lawyers of the Year” in Phoenix

  • Andrew Gordon: 2021 Litigation – Health Care “Lawyer of the Year” in Phoenix
  • Kristen Rosati: 2021 Health Care Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Phoenix
  • Roopali Desai: 2021 Civil Rights Law “Lawyer of the Year” in Phoenix

2021 Best Lawyers

  • Keith Beauchamp: Commercial Litigation; Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants; Litigation – Securities (recognized since 2008)
  • Scott Bennett: Criminal Defense – General Practice (recognized since 2013); Health Care Law (recognized since 2020)
  • Kent Brockelman: Employment Law – Management; Litigation – Labor and Employment (recognized since 2006)
  • Jill Chasson: Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management (recognized since 2012); Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Sam Coppersmith: Corporate Law; Real Estate Law (recognized since 2018)
  • Roopali Desai: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Appellate Practice; Civil Rights Law; Commercial Litigation (recognized since 2015); First Amendment Law (recognized since 2020)
  • John DeWulf: Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Securities (recognized since 2007)
  • Andrew Gaona: Appellate Practice (recognized since 2020)
  • Andrew Gordon: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Commercial Litigation; Health Care Law; Litigation – Antitrust; Litigation – Health Care (recognized since 2003); Antitrust Law
  • John Kelly: Commercial Litigation
  • Karen Owens: Antitrust Law; Health Care Law (recognized since 1999)
  • Kristen Rosati: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Health Care Law (recognized since 2007)
  • Marvin Ruth: Commercial Litigation (recognized since 2019); Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Melissa Soliz: Health Care Law 
  • Kathy Steadman: Administrative/Regulatory Law (recognized since 2020)

“Each year Coppersmith Brockelman surpasses the prior year’s accomplishments, which is testament to the outstanding work from our high-caliber team,” said Keith Beauchamp, chair of the firm’s governance committee. “Having three attorneys receive “Lawyer of the Year” designations, as well as 75% of our attorneys honored as Best Lawyers, is gratifying, particularly as the recognition comes from our colleagues in the industry.”