Roopali represents four initiative campaigns who filed a Petition for Special Action with the Arizona Supreme Court to seek an order permitting them to use the E-Qual system to obtain online signatures

Coppersmith Brockelman’s Roopali Desai has been selected as one of four finalists for the Private Sector category in the 2017 ATHENA Awards, hosted by the Greater Phoenix Chamber of Commerce.

Since 1987, the ATHENA Awards have recognized outstanding female professionals across all industries who demonstrate excellent leadership in their field, commitment to mentorship of women throughout their career, and devotion to the community through volunteer activities and initiatives. The program has honored 47 Phoenix-area professionals over the course of 30 years.

Roopali meets all of those criteria and then some. She has a robust commercial litigation practice and is among the state’s top election and political law attorneys, representing numerous state and local public officials, candidates, political party organizations, independent expenditure committees, ballot measure sponsors and more. Best Lawyers® and Southwest Super Lawyers have recognized her for outstanding legal work, and she was named one of the Most Influential Women in Business by Az Business Magazine and recognized in the Phoenix Business Journal’s 40 Under 40 list in 2016.

Among her myriad accomplishments, Roopali is a member of the board of directors for the American Civil Liberties Union and New Pathways for Youth, and is the immediate past president of the board of directors for the Arizona Center for Law in the Public Interest. In 2016, Arizona Chief Justice Scott Bales appointed Roopali to the highly coveted Committee on Civil Justice Reform, which promotes access to justice and improves court processes.

Roopali and the other ATHENA finalists will be honored at an awards luncheon on October 25 at the Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. Finalists in the Public Sector, Private Sector, and Young Professionals categories will be recognized and a winner will be chosen from each category.

Learn more about the ATHENA Awards here.