Best Lawyers® recognized 17 of our 20 attorneys for exceptional work in 19 categories. Out of the 17, 16 were honored as Best Lawyers®, with Marki Stewart recognized for the first time. Additionally, Kristen Yost was lauded as “One to Watch” — a designation given to attorneys who display professional excellence early in their careers.

The Best Lawyers in America© is the longest-running peer-review publication in the legal profession. Each year, Best Lawyers conducts comprehensive surveys of tens of thousands of lawyers who confidentially evaluate their professional peers. Based on the results of these surveys, the publication designates the year’s leading lawyers in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Firm attorneys recognized in the 2022 edition are:

2022 Best Lawyers

  • Keith Beauchamp: Commercial Litigation; Legal Malpractice Law – Defendants; Litigation – Securities (recognized since 2008)
  • Scott Bennett: Criminal Defense – General Practice (recognized since 2013); Health Care Law (recognized since 2020)
  • Kent Brockelman: Employment Law – Management; Litigation – Labor and Employment (recognized since 2006)
  • Jill Chasson: Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management (recognized since 2012); Litigation – Labor and Employment
  • Sam Coppersmith: Corporate Law; Real Estate Law (recognized since 2018)
  • Roopali Desai: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Appellate Practice; Civil Rights Law; Commercial Litigation (recognized since 2015); First Amendment Law (recognized since 2020)
  • John DeWulf: Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Securities (recognized since 2007)
  • Andrew Gaona: Appellate Practice (recognized since 2020)
  • Andrew Gordon: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Antitrust Law; Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Health Care Law; Litigation – Antitrust; Litigation – Health Care (recognized since 2003)
  • John Kelly: Commercial Litigation; Real Estate Law (recognized since 2021)
  • Karen Owens: Antitrust Law; Health Care Law (recognized since 1999)
  • Kristen Rosati: Administrative/Regulatory Law; Health Care Law (recognized since 2007)
  • Marvin Ruth: Commercial Litigation (recognized since 2019); Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Melissa Soliz: Health Care Law (recognized since 2021)
  • Kathy Steadman: Administrative/Regulatory Law (recognized since 2020)
  • Marki Stewart: Health Care Law

2022 “Ones to Watch”

“Having 85% of Coppersmith Brockelman attorneys recognized as Best Lawyers is a remarkable feat and tremendous honor, especially considering it comes from our peers in the legal arena,” said Keith Beauchamp, chair of Coppersmith Brockelman’s governance committee. “It speaks not only to their talent and dedication to serving clients, but also the respect they have earned locally and nationally. We congratulate all who are recognized, including Marki Stewart and Kristen Yost for joining this elite group for the first time.”

Learn more about Coppersmith Brockelman’s practice areas.